Follow Us On

The installation ceremony of the 5th President Rtr. Tazneem Carimjee of the Rotaract Club of Colombo Fort

The installation ceremony of the 5th President Rtr. Tazneem Carimjee of the Rotaract Club of Colombo Fort and her board of directors was held on the 2nd of August 2020 at the Royal College Union Skills Centre and broadcasted live via Facebook.

The dignitaries present for the day were District Rotaract Representative Kasun Sigera, District Secretary PP Kayalvili Mathavaram, President of the Rotary Club of Fort Sashini Ambagahawita, Youth Service Chair Rtr. Nishantha Jaymal, Guide Club Coordinator Rtr. Vidushith.

The ceremony commenced with the lighting of the traditional oil lamp, followed by which the dignitaries were invited to take their seats at the head table. Fulfilling his duties, the sergeant at arms Rtr. Hashif Musadhiq called the house to order and began the Rotaract formalities. Next, the welcome address was delivered by Rtr. Naafia Sariffodeen.

Outgoing President Rtr. Nazmi Mahmood speaking as president for one last time.

Rtr. Sumudu Sarasija the outgoing Secretary took to the stage to deliver her final speech thus concluding her duties for the year 2019-2020, following which a video was played on the club’s journey throughout the past Rotaract year. Next in line was the outgoing President Rtr. Nazmi Mahmood who came forward to deliver his outgoing speech where he mentioned that the club has completed 30 successful projects of which 6 of them were new initiatives. He also stressed on the fact that they had won gold for the most outstanding cluster project. With this Rtr. IPP Nazmi Mahmood concluded his speech with a few tokens of appreciation.

Collaring of President Rtr. Tazneem Carimjee

This led to the most anticipated moment of the evening, where the incoming president Rtr. Tazneem Carimjee was collared as the 5th President of the Rotaract Club of Colombo Fort. 

President Rtr. Tazneem Carimjee speaking for the first time as president of the Rotaract Club of Colombo Fort.

Next in line was Rtr. Tazneem Carimjee, who delivered her speech and emphasized on how she planned to improve the stature of the club from where it currently was. She concluded her speech by introducing her board of directors for the year 2020-21, they are as follows;

Executive Committee and Board of Directors for the year 2020-21

District Rotaract Representative Kasun Sigera addressed the gathering and expressed his wishes to the club for the upcoming Rotaract year. Followed up by the DRC Rtn. Amjad Yoosuf who addressed the gathering. The Chief Guest for the day Rtn. Sashini Ambaghawita addressed the gathering and imparted her wisdom with regard to the Rotaract movement. 

Secretary Rtr. Omar Hussain delivering the vote of thanks.

The Vote of Thanks for the ceremony was delivered by Rtr. Omar Hussain followed by the newly appointed President Rtr Tasneem Carimjee, who adjourned the ceremony for fellowship and refreshments. 

We, the Rotaract Club of Colombo Mid Town would like to convey best wishes to Rotaract Club of Colombo Fort to thrive towards the pinnacle in the upcoming journey while striving as one!

Written by Rtr. Aakil Riyaz of Colombo Mid Town

Related Posts

Leave a Reply